Health Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
Consumer Product Safety

Disclaimer

Pesticide Incident Reporting Database

Welcome to the Canadian Pesticide Incident Reporting database. This database gives you access to information concerning suspected adverse effects to Canadian marketed pesticides as reported to Health Canada's Pest Management Regulatory Agency (PMRA).

In order to access the database, please carefully read the following information.

 

What is the Canadian Pesticide Incident Reporting Program?

Health Canada's PMRA is responsible for the collection and assessment of incident reports for Canadian marketed pesticides. Health professionals and laypersons can report pesticide related incidents to Health Canada either via the manufacturer, who, as of April 2007, is required by law to report them to Health Canada, or directly to Health Canada by using the form for the public available on the PMRA website.

Incidents are classified into six major categories:

  • effects on humans,
  • effects on domestic animals,
  • effects on the environment,
  • residues in food,
  • packaging failure, and
  • effects identified in scientific studies.

Incidents are further classified by severity. In the case of humans for instance, incidents are classified as minor, moderate, major or death depending on the type of symptoms reported.

Health Canada uses incident reports to help identify any potential risks to humans or the environment from the 'real-life' use of pesticides. Potential risks are identified by searching the information provided in incident reports for trends, such as repeated effects or multiple incidents for a particular pesticide, or serious effects. The identification of a trend is not, by itself, proof of the association of a pesticide with a health or environmental risk but it triggers the need to further investigate a potential association. If a trend is identified, Health Canada will evaluate the information in conjunction with scientific literature. If evaluation of this information identifies a safety issue, appropriate action will be taken. Such action could range from a minor label change to discontinuation of the product.

 

What is the Canadian Pesticide Incident Reporting Database?

The incident reporting database is the computerized database that houses all incident reports for Canadian marketed pesticides that have been submitted to Health Canada. The database contains reports of incidents that have occurred in Canada and, in some cases, the United States. The database is used as a tool to store and retrieve essential information from incident reports. It cannot be used on its own for the evaluation of pesticide safety. Health Canada receives incident reports daily, including new reports and additional information for reports previously submitted. As such, the information contained within the database is constantly changing and being updated.

The information stored in the incident reporting database is available to the public with the exception of personal information, as defined by the Privacy Act, confidential test data and confidential business information. This information is provided with the understanding that the data will be appropriately referenced and used in conjunction with the caveat statement below.

Please note that the information provided in the incident reporting database originates with an organization not subject to the Official Languages Act and is available on this site in the language in which it was provided. To use the incident reporting database you must first read and confirm your understanding of the following information.

 

Limitations of Information in Incident Reports

Caveat:

1. Only the information that meets the definition of 'incident', as described above, is published in this database. However, the PMRA receives a wide range of information from many sources and all information that the PMRA receives is considered when conducting scientific evaluations.

2. Incident reports are suspected associations which reflect the suspicion, opinion or observation of the individual reporter. The data presented reflects, as much as possible, the reporter's observations and opinions, and does not reflect any Health Canada assessment of association between the pesticide and the effect(s).

3. Reporting of a particular effect does not necessarily mean that it was caused by the suspected pesticide. The purpose of the Pesticide Incident Reporting Program is to detect possible signals of adverse effects associated with the use of pesticides through trends analysis. Additional scientific investigations are required to validate signals from the database and to establish a cause and effect relationship between a pesticide and an adverse effect. Assessment of causality must include other factors such as the frequency, severity, plausibility, quality of the information contained in the report, amount of pesticide used, underlying diseases, etc.

4. Certain reported effects may occur spontaneously. They provide a background rate in the general population and do not necessarily have a causal relationship with the pesticide.

I HAVE READ THE DISCLAIMER. PROCEED TO INCIDENT REPORTS

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Sécurité des produits de consommation

Avertissement

Base de données sur les déclarations d'incident relatif aux produits antiparasitaires

Bienvenue dans la Base de données sur les déclarations d'incident relatif aux produits antiparasitaires. Cette base de données vous permet de consulter les effets nocifs présumés des produits antiparasitaires commercialisés au Canada, tels que déclarés à l'Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire (ARLA) de Santé Canada.

Avant de consulter cette base de données, veuillez lire attentivement les renseignements suivants.



En quoi consiste le Programme de déclaration des incidents relatifs aux produits antiparasitaires du Canada?

L'ARLA de Santé Canada est chargée de recueillir et d'évaluer les déclarations d'incident de pesticides vendus sur le marché canadien. Toute personne ou professionnel de la santé peut déclarer à Santé Canada un incident associé aux pesticides, soit par l'intermédiaire du fabricant, qui, depuis avril 2007, est tenu par la loi de signaler tout incident à Santé Canada, soit directement auprès de Santé Canada en remplissant le formulaire destiné au grand public qui est affiché dans le site Web de l'ARLA.

Les incidents sont classés dans six catégories principales :

  • effets sur les humains;
  • effets sur les animaux domestiques;
  • effets sur l'environnement;
  • résidus dans les aliments;
  • défaillance de l'emballage;
  • effets relevés lors d'études scientifiques.

Les incidents sont ensuite classés selon leur gravité. Par exemple, dans le cas des humains, les incidents sont classés comme mineurs, modérés, majeurs ou causant la mort, selon le type de symptômes déclarés.

Les déclarations d'incident aident Santé Canada à établir tout risque potentiel découlant de l'utilisation en conditions réelles de pesticides pour les humains ou l'environnement. Les risques potentiels sont déterminés en dégageant des renseignements fournis par les tendances, comme les effets répétés ou les incidents multiples reliés à un pesticide en particulier, ou alors les effets graves. Une tendance n'est pas, en elle-même, une preuve qu'il y a un lien entre un pesticide et un risque pour la santé ou l'environnement, mais elle oblige à vérifier si un parallèle peut être établi. Si une tendance est dégagée par Santé Canada, les renseignements seront évalués de pair avec les publications scientifiques. Si l'évaluation de ces renseignements révèle un problème de sécurité, des mesures appropriées seront prises. De telles mesures pourraient aller de modifications mineures à l'étiquette jusqu'à l'abandon du produit.

 

Qu'est-ce que la Base de données sur les déclarations d'incident relatif aux produits antiparasitaires du Canada?

La Base de données sur les déclarations d'incident relatif aux produits antiparasitaires est informatisée et contient toutes les déclarations d'incident relatives aux pesticides commercialisés au Canada qui ont été transmises à Santé Canada. Elle comporte les déclarations d'incident qui se sont produits au Canada et, dans certains cas, aux États-Unis. Elle sert d'outil pour entreposer et puiser les renseignements essentiels dans les déclarations d'incident. Elle ne peut pas être directement utilisée pour évaluer l'innocuité d'un pesticide. Santé Canada reçoit quotidiennement des déclarations, qu'il s'agisse de nouveaux signalements ou d'ajout d'information aux déclarations soumises antérieurement. Les renseignements contenus dans la base de données sont donc modifiés et mis à jour régulièrement.

Les renseignements contenus dans cette base de données peuvent être consultés par le public, à l'exception des renseignements confidentiels tels que définis dans la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, les données d'essai confidentielles et les renseignements commerciaux confidentiels. Il est entendu que ces renseignements seront mis adéquatement en référence et accompagnés de l'avertissement ci-dessous.

Il importe de noter que les renseignements dans la Base de données sur les déclarations d'incident relatif aux produits antiparasitaires proviennent d'organisations qui ne sont pas assujetties à la Loi sur les langues officielles et sont présentés dans le présent site Web dans la langue de déclaration. Pour utiliser la Base de données sur les déclarations d'incident relatif aux produits antiparasitaires, vous devez commencer par lire les renseignements suivants et déclarer que vous les comprenez.

 

Restrictions concernant les déclarations d'incident

Avertissement

1. Les renseignements qui respectent la définition d'« incident » comme décrite ci-dessus sont les seuls publiés dans la base de données. Toutefois, l'ARLA reçoit une grande variété de renseignements de plusieurs sources et toutes ces informations reçues sont prises en compte au moment de mener des évaluations scientifiques.

2. Chaque déclaration représente les soupçons, les opinions ou les observations de la personne qui l'a transmise. Les données présentées correspondent, dans la mesure du possible, aux observations et aux opinions de la personne ayant effectué la déclaration et ne correspondent pas à l'évaluation par Santé Canada du lien causal entre le produit antiparasitaire et les effets.

3. L'indication d'une réaction particulière ne signifie pas nécessairement qu'elle a été causée par le produit antiparasitaire en question. L'objectif du Programme de déclaration des incidents relatifs aux produits antiparasitaires consiste à repérer les signaux potentiels des effets nocifs associés à l'utilisation de produits antiparasitaires au moyen d'une analyse des tendances. Il faut mener d'autres recherches scientifiques pour valider les signaux présentés dans la base de données et établir une relation de cause à effet entre le produit antiparasitaire et l'effet nocif. L'évaluation de la causalité doit tenir compte d'autres facteurs tels que la fréquence, la gravité, le caractère plausible, la qualité des renseignements inscrits dans la déclaration, la quantité de produit utilisée, les affections sous-jacentes, etc.

4. Certains effets déclarés peuvent se produire spontanément. Ils fournissent un taux de base dans la population générale, mais n'établissent pas nécessairement un lien causal avec le produit antiparasitaire

J'ai lu l'avertissement. Je veux consulter les déclarations d'incident.